Empathy and Trans Narratives?

3 thoughts on “Empathy and Trans Narratives?”

  1. didn’t mean to post as “Mess” initially, I think I had abandoned an effort to summarize what I was going in with mid-word and forgot to change it…. whoops! Edited to add a slightly more descriptive title

  2. yo! this is great, I think empathy and digital identifications are heavily under-discussed in games. the act of role-playing can become extremely fraught, especially when categories like race and gender are in play. I’m about to post about To The Moon and ask some similar questions, so feel free to hit me up there too :)

    one of my concerns with the “empathy” discourse around trans games (i.e. “dys4ia conveys the frustration of transition,” or “mainichi shows us just how hard daily life is for ur average tgirl”) is that it actually reinforces the trans/cis binary in this very identity-politicsy way that I think solidifies in the mind of the abstract “player” that they are definitively one or the other. while empathy is ostensibly about being able to “identify as” someone else, I think in practice it might actually intensifies distinctions between experiences. maybe we recognize empathy as something that we necessarily do to Others, and when we do it we set ourselves up as Different but somehow peering over the fence to imagine a foreign experience. yet, we never seem to be particularly successful and crossing the fence and bringing back anything useful.

    In the context of trans narratives, this is especially problematic because it relegates the confusion and incoherence of “gender bullshit” to the openly trans community, alienating closeted or potential trans people and rendering invisible the gender bullshit that literally every single person has in their head. this is my issue with the *discourse* around mainichi and dys4ia (not the games themselves), and why I love problem attic—by refusing to mention gender explicitly, it drags everyone into the bullshit, not just trans people, and saves us a bit of that discursive burden. what do u think?

    1. Thanks for the comment! I agree about Problem Attic– one of my favorite things about that game comes from its refusal to ground the game in the mess of how ~gender bullshit~ interacts with the “real world.” Many people still feel alienated by its abstractness, but my perception is that it is in a different way than people might feel alienated by more intelligible games like dys4ia and mainichi. I think your bit about the trans/cis binary and being able to “identify as” has been one of my main experiences of many of the texts we have engaged with this quarter– I was often engaging with texts in a way that felt like it was intensifying distinctions, like you said.

      I really liked your To The Moon Post as well, I feel like I’ve been thinking about the Sick Woman Theory constantly….
      I’m just going to drop a quote from the Hedva writing on the Sick Woman Theory that you linked: “The most anti-capitalist protest is to care for another and to care for yourself. To take on the historically feminized and therefore invisible practice of nursing, nurturing, caring. To take seriously each other’s vulnerability and fragility and precarity, and to support it, honor it, empower it. To protect each other, to enact and practice community. A radical kinship, an interdependent sociality, a politics of care.”

      I’m really interested in experimenting and seeing other people’s experiments wrt care and nurturing but also the rare moments where perhaps people do find themselves “crossing the fence and bringing back anything useful,” as you said so nicely!

      ( I’ve been slowly working on a personal project that relates to all this, [well now that I think about it it really seems like all my personal projects relate to this ha] … hope maybe you could one day take a look at it! )

Leave a comment